Lemon Bars

Lemon Bars

When I start thinking about favorite yearly events I always come up with two related to our lovely little lemon tree. The first, in spring when the tree is in bloom. That heavenly, intoxicating citrus bloom smell. I can hardly wait! The second, early winter when the lemons from our tree (and all the other citrus, for that matter), are ripe and ready to be enjoyed.

Several years ago, when we were living in Seattle, I encountered my first lemon tree in bloom at a nursery. Right then and there I decided that I would someday own a lemon tree. I may have to build a green house, but I would own a lemon tree. As such, when we moved to Tucson getting a lemon tree was a no-brainer.

We have a dwarf Meyer Lemon, which produces some of the most fragrant decadent fruit you can imagine. It’s a cross between a lemon and an orange, so it’s slightly sweeter than a straight lemon. We actually only got one lemon off of the tree this year (apparently citrus trees cycle up and down with their abundance of production). Because Meyer’s are so perfect for lemonade, I saved ours for that purpose.

The lemons for these bars came from next door. Our neighbors Malcolm and Barbara were lovely enough to plant a full-sized lemon tree next to the wall we share. It’s still small (they only put it in last year), but it produced a copious amount of lemons this year. Because they won’t be back in town until mid-February, we took the liberty of rescuing what lemons we could reach to save them from an ill fate. So, thank you Malcolm & Barbara!

It is already starting, but soon there will be more citrus than we can consume. The folks on the other side of us have an orange and a grapefruit. They usually take care of the orange but always have lots of extra grapefruits. Hmmm…grapefruit bars? If you have a yummy grapefruit recipe, please share 🙂

For now, I’m thrilled to have these Lemon Bars to wash away any cold-weather blues we may have been feeling. The dough that makes up the bottom of the bars is basically a shortbread, the top essentially a custard or curd, if you like. I sweeten the custard/curd with honey instead of regular sugar because I love the way lemons and honey go together. These bars are bright and tart, but not too tart. They taste like lemons in the best possible way!

Lemon Bars

  • 1/2 lb unsalted butter, room temp (16 T)
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1/4 t almond extract
  • 3 c all-purpose flour, divided
  • 1/8 t kosher salt
  • 7 large eggs
  • 1 c honey
  • 2 T lemon zest
  • 1 c lemon juice, fresh squeezed
  • powdered sugar, for dusting

Lemon Zest

Preheat your oven to 350° and greasing a 9×13 baking dish.

Cream together the butter, sugar and almond extract. Gradually add in 2 c of AP flour and all of the salt. Press the resulting dough into your baking dish. It’s likely that the dough will get really sticky, more so the warmer your hands are. If it’s hard to work with, stick the dish (dough and all) in to the fridge for a few minutes to help it firm up. It will be a lot easier to work with once it’s chilled. Prick the dough with a fork once it’s all pressed into the dish.

Bake the shortbread bottom at 350° for 25 minutes, until it begins to brown around the edges. Remove from the oven and set on a wire rack to cool.

Beat together the eggs, honey, zest, juice and remaining 1 c of AP flour.

Pour the curd mixture over the shortbread and bake (still at 350°) for 25-30 minutes. You want everything to be firmly set before you pull it from the oven – no jiggling. I baked mine for 30 minutes, but you oven could run hotter, so check at 30.

Cool completely and cut into squares or triangles, depending on your preference. I used my dough scraper, sprayed with cooking oil, to slice even bars. Dust with powdered sugar before serving.

Lemons

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 Responses to “Lemon Bars”

  1. Heather Says:

    those look utterly decadent and delicious! lucky you for having such useful neighbors 🙂

  2. Maris Says:

    These look so light and refreshing! I love that most of the ingredients are pantry items – all I’d need to buy are the lemons!

  3. Donna Says:

    They look divine. Interesting addition of honey and almond extract. I’ll have to try them. Thank you.

  4. Hayley Says:

    I’m having a Meyer lemon week over at my blog, and was hoping to finish it off with a round-up of Meyer (or regular) lemon recipes around the web. I would love to post a link this recipe if that would be alright with you. The round-up won’t be posted for another week or so, so let me know what you think, and if you have any other recipes. Thanks Again!

  5. ovenhaven Says:

    I absolutely love that last photo! I’ve actually never had lemon bars before, but have always heard how refreshing they are. I’ll give your recipe a try soon!

  6. Maggie Says:

    The honey sounds wonderful in lemon bars. I’ve always wanted a lemon tree but the tiny houseplant I have to grow in Michigan isn’t as thrilling as a full sized tree.

  7. limeandlemon Says:

    sound really delicious … i never tried lemon bars be4 but this makes me wanna make it … Laila … http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com

  8. Rosa Says:

    What pretty bars! a delightful treat!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  9. Andrea Says:

    Micha, lemon bars are one of my absolute favorites. But I love any and all citrus desserts. These just look too beautiful. You could try grapefruit curd with your grapefruits! I made it once and really like it!

  10. Diigo bookmarks 01/14/2009 « Jill’s Place Says:

    […] Lemon Bars […]

  11. Hillary Says:

    I think it’s so cool that you have your own meyer lemon tree. I just went to the grocery store to find my meyer lemons and they don’t have any yet this season! I was bummed. Great lemon bars!

  12. jude Says:

    Scrumptious! We have a Meyer Lemon tree that is laden so will try the recipe. Have you heard of the lemonade tree ?. Fabulous fruit sweet lemon just like fresh lemonade . Looks like a Lisbon lemon tree quite big with thorns. Thanks again

  13. Justin Scott Says:

    You should get a couple of grapefruit and try to make the same recipe with them. Texas Citrus has a recipe competition ending soon where you can win $1,500 for your best grapefruit recipe entry. There are details at http://www.riostarchallenge.com

  14. jenna @ foodwithkidappeal Says:

    great timing! i’ve got a collection of lemons from our co-op shares that are begging to be turned into lemon bars. i’ve never made these for the boys, but looking forward to it.

  15. lisa (dandysugar) Says:

    Gorgeous bars! These were one of my favorites growing up. They look perfect!

  16. John Says:

    Nice cake. I love lemon cakes.
    http://www.ahacook.com

  17. Craving: Lemon Bars « wanderlust Says:

    […] really craving lemon bars this week, so I searched around and found this great blog entry from Scraping the Skillet. Beautiful photos and a great recipe! I also came across the recipe from Joan’s on Third in […]

  18. Dee Says:

    A huge waste of 7 eggs and a cup of honey. These lemon bars were awful! My husband and I each took a bite of the lemon bars and
    immediately tossed the whole lot into the trash.

  19. Lemon Bars « Ribbons and Pearls Says:

    […] Lemon Bars « Scraping the Skillet. […]

Leave a comment